I’ve been home for the past week, taking vacation, to be “home mother” because 2nd wife has been down recovering from having her baby. I worked my ass off, but enjoyed it so much that, at the end of the week, I was ready to give my two week notice. I miss so much of life having to be tied to a job…and I miss raising my own kids. If I think about it too much, I get a bit depressed that my kids are getting so much of their basic life experience with someone else besides me. To add to that is the fact that wife #2 is so different than I am in about every way you can think of beside our religion. It’s a leap of faith to open my life and the lives of my children to the values and ideas of another person, especially one whom I often struggle to find common ground with. This is an aspect of plural marriage that takes a lot of work and growing in order to learn how to come together and accomplish, together, the goals we have as a family. Quite the challenge and a great amount of personal growth takes place if one lends herself to the process of it.

Leave a Reply

